Tampa DUI Attorney
DUI Attorneys in Tampa Firm Overview Attorney Profiles
Tampa DUI Lawyer
Free DUI case evaluation
Resources Case Results Contact Us
Tampa DUI Defense Attorney
About DHSMV Hearings
Hardship Licenses
Losing Your Driver's License
The 10-Day Rule
DUI Attorney Videos
Thomas & Paulk PA is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Attorneys in Tampa FL
Contact a Tampa DUI Lawyer
Are you a new client?
DUI » DMV » The 10-Day Rule

Arrested for a DUI? You Have 10 Days to Act!

License Suspension and DUI in Tampa, Florida

If you are pulled over and arrested for DUI in Florida, and are subsequently accused of failing or refusing a breath or blood test to determine your blood alcohol level, you will have only 10 days from the date of your arrest to schedule a hearing with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to contest the administrative suspension of your driver's license. If you do not act within 10 days, your license will be automatically suspended – regardless of the outcome of your criminal case.

The 10-day rule is one of many reasons you should move quickly to involve an attorney if you or someone you know was arrested for alleged drunk driving or driving under the influence of drugs. Under this rule, waiting too long to schedule your DMV hearing may mean that you will lose your license, something that is not only inconvenient but that may have a serious impact on your employment, education and day-to-day activities.

Act Before Your Time Is Up to Protect Your License

By getting involved immediately, a DUI attorney can schedule your license suspension hearing with the DHSMV. Your attorney can also prepare your case for this hearing, organizing evidence and information that will show the hearing officer that the results of a breath / blood test are questionable or that you actually did not refuse to submit to a test after your arrest. There are other factors that your attorney can also bring up, such as the lawfulness of your arrest, whether the police officer had probable cause to pull you over or arrest you in the first place, and whether you were informed of the consequences of refusing a breath or blood test.

Proving any of these may have a positive impact on your case and may even mean that you will keep your license. Make sure you act before the 10-day rule expires and you are unable to challenge your license suspension. Our lawyers are skilled in handling both branches of drunk driving cases for clients throughout Tampa and the surrounding areas in Hillsborough County as well as throughout South Florida. We can help you with your DMV hearing and can protect your rights in your criminal court case. Because this is a key focus of our law firm, you can rest assured that we have the knowledge and resources to properly handle your case.

Don't give up your license without a fight. Contact a DUI lawyer in Tampa today!

Tampa DUI Defense Attorney Thomas & Paulk, P.A. Attorneys at Law
Thomas & Paulk on Twitter
Thomas & Paulk on Facebook
Thomas & Paulk on Google+