Reckless Driving Charges
Under §316.192 of the Florida Statutes, it is considered to be a criminal offense to operate a motor vehicle recklessly, with "willful or wanton disregard" for the well-being and public safety. This could include fleeing from a law enforcement officer instead of pulling over. Under this section of the statutes, a first conviction of this criminal act will result in the following penalties:
- Imprisonment for no more than 90 days; and / or
- Monetary fine between $25 and $500
For a second conviction, the penalties will be increased to imprisonment for up to six months and a monetary fine between $50 and $1000. These can also be elevated, depending on the circumstances of the arrest. For example, someone who was recklessly driving and caused properly damage or seriously bodily injury would be facing elevated charges of a first degree misdemeanor and third degree felony, respectively.
The court will also take it seriously should they have reason to believe that the defendant was driving the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and / or drugs. The penalties for this could include mandatory completion of a DUI program substance abuse education course and evaluation. The defendant will be responsible for paying for this program in full and must complete the program within a reasonable amount of time.
Arrested for reckless driving in Tampa, Florida?
Now is the time to contact an attorney to discuss your legal options. In the face of imprisonment and fines, you need a competent lawyer to help you avoid a conviction. When your freedom and driver's license are on the line because of a reckless driving and / or DUI arrest, do not underestimate the power of an experienced attorney. With aggressive legal representation targeted to address the particular issues involved with your case, you have the opportunity to face a future free from severe criminal penalties and a record that will follow you around for life.