Underage DUI Charges
In the state of Florida, criminal charges for drunk driving are taken extremely seriously - especially when they concern drivers under the legal drinking age of 21. No matter if it is a case involving a high school student partying at a friend's house on a weekend or a college kid who snuck into a bar with a fake ID, underage drinking and driving charges may be filed. If you or a loved one has recently been taken into custody for underage DUI, it is imperative that you do not hesitate to secure the legal assistance that you deserve from an aggressive attorney.
Penalties for Underage Drinking & Driving
Law enforcement officers in Florida have the authority to pull over and detain drivers under the age of 21, when they have probable cause to believe that the drivers are driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs or are driving with any detectable level of alcohol in their systems. Officers have the authority to request that the drivers take a chemical test to determine their blood alcohol level. If this level is found to be .02% or greater, the driver may face administrative
license suspension by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV).
A driver under the age of 21 may face the following penalties for driving with a BAC of 0.02 percent or higher:
- First offense: 6-month license suspension
- Second or subsequent offense: 1-year license suspension
If the underage driver refuses to submit to a breath test, he or she may face the following penalties:
- First breath test: 1-year suspension.
- Second or subsequent breath test refusal: 18-month suspension.
It is important to note that this level of underage DUI is not considered a traffic infraction or a criminal offense. When the officer detains the driver for underage DUI, this is also not considered an arrest. License suspension is the only penalty enforced at this level. In some situations, however, a driver who is under the age of 21 may face enhanced penalties and criminal charges for
DUI. This usually applies if the driver has a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent or greater (which is above the legal limit for any person to operate a motor vehicle, regardless of age).
Click here to read more about underage DUI penalties, and click here to read more about standard DUI penalties.
Representing Underage Drivers
If you choose to seek out the legal assistance of our firm after being accused of DUI, you can breathe easier knowing that we will be fully committed to your case. We understand how frightening it can be to face a criminal charge and how much of an impact license suspension may have on your life. You do not have to face these matters alone. By evaluating your case, building up the evidence and crafting your defense from the ground up, we will use our experience and resources to challenge your license suspension and criminal charges, if any.