DUI Attorney in Tampa
DUI Attorneys Firm Overview Attorney Profiles
Thomas & Paulk, P.A.
Free case evaluation
Resources Case Results Contact Us
Premier DUI Defense Lawyers
Charged with a Tampa DUI?

Charged with a DUI?

Whether you have been charged with a DUI, or you are simply looking to learn more about DUI law, you can read more about how we can help you here.

DUI Charges in Tampa | Drunk Driving Defense | DUI Testing | BUI / Gasparilla Arrests

Defending Your Rights 24/7
DUI Defense BLog
Contact a Tampa DUI Lawyer
Name:
Email:
Phone:
Message:
Thomas & Paulk PA is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Attorneys in Tampa FL

Arrested for DUI in Florida?

Florida is notorious for its party scene, and it is not uncommon for many individuals to indulge in the lifestyle that the state has to offer. However, when people choose to drink or use drugs before getting behind the wheel of a vehicle, the consequences can be serious. Not only are intoxicated drivers putting their own lives at risk—they are also jeopardizing the lives of their passengers and others around them. If you or a loved one has been arrested for driving under the influence, it is imperative that you contact a DUI lawyer in Tampa as soon as possible.

In Florida, you will be found driving under the influence if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level is .08% or higher. Florida law states that if you are driving a vehicle, you have automatically given consent to submit to a chemical test. This means that if you are pulled over for suspicion of DUI, you must take a test that will determine your BAC level, or face an automatic license suspension if you refuse to do so. The length of time your license is suspended can vary from one year to 18 months, depending on if you are a first time or multiple time DUI offender.

The maximum BAC level that drivers under the age of 21 can have is .05%. Underage drivers that are first time offenders could be facing the revocation of their license until they are 18, and multiple time offenders could be facing revocation until they are 21.

While first time DUI offenders do not have a minimum jail term, multiple time offenders could be facing a 10 to 30 day jail sentence. Many states require the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for even first time offenders; however, Florida only requires the installation of an IID if you get a second DUI conviction within five years, or a third DUI conviction within 10 years.

Team up with a Tampa DUI Attorney!

A DUI charge could lead to a mark on your criminal record, suspension of your driver's license, steep fines and increased insurance rates. With so much at stake, it is important for you to ensure the attorney by your side is one you can depend on. At Thomas & Paulk, we have more than two decades of collective experience, providing tough defense for individuals facing DUI charges. To find out how we may be able to help you, give our firm a call today at (813)321-7323.

Tampa DUI Defense Attorney Thomas & Paulk, P.A. Attorneys at Law