Tampa DUI Attorney
DUI Attorneys in Tampa Firm Overview Attorney Profiles
Tampa DUI Lawyer
Free DUI case evaluation
Resources Case Results Contact Us
Tampa DUI Defense Attorney
DUI Penalties
Alternative DUI Sentencing
DUI School
Enhanced Penalties for DUI
Fines and Court Fees
Ignition Interlock Device
Imprisonment
Increased Insurance Costs
License Suspension & Revocation
Mandatory Minimum Penalties
DUI Attorney Videos
Thomas & Paulk PA is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Attorneys in Tampa FL
Contact a Tampa DUI Lawyer
Name:
Email:
Phone:
Are you a new client?
Message:
DUI » DUI Penalties » Ignition Interlock Device

Ignition Interlock Device

In an effort to cut down on multiple DUI offenses, across the country many legislators are putting into practice the penalty of having convicted mandatorily install an ignition interlock device (IID) into all vehicles that they routinely drive. This device works much like a breath test. Upon starting of the vehicle, the driver must breathe into the device – it will then analyze the breath sample to conclude whether or not the BAC of the driver is below the set limit. If it is, the car will start up. While driving, there will continue to be mandatory samples that must be given. If the sample is not given, an alarm will start and will continue to run until the car is either stopped or a clean sample is provided. The event will then be logged and will later be printed out to be reviewed by the proper authorities.

Installation Requirements in Florida

According to Florida Statute §316.194, the installation must happen at the expense of the defendant themselves. Costs include a $12 Interlock fee, $70 for installation and a monthly fee of $67.50 for monitoring and calibration. Beyond this, the device is to not only to be placed in the main vehicle of the defendant, but must also be placed in every single vehicle that is either solely or jointly owned or leased. Below, you will see the breakdown of when a defendant must have it installed and for how long:

  • First Conviction – Only if court ordered
    • If BAC is over 0.15 or if a minor is in the car, for at least six months
  • Second Conviction – Minimum of one year
    • If BAC is over 0.15 or if a minor is in the car, for at least two years
  • Third Conviction – Minimum of two years
  • Four or More Convictions – Minimum of five years

Hiring a DUI Lawyer in Tampa, Florida

Due to the harshness of the penalties that you will be facing, having an aggressive attorney on your side is not only desired, it is necessary. At Thomas & Paulk, our legal team has an intimate understanding of criminal law pertaining to drunken driving charges; we are fully prepared to offer our legal assistance. Should you choose to work with us, you will be able to be confident knowing that we will stop at nothing in our efforts to help you to obtain the just outcome that you fully deserve. For legal representation that you can trust, please contact Thomas & Paulk.

Tampa DUI Defense Attorney Thomas & Paulk, P.A. Attorneys at Law
Thomas & Paulk on Twitter
Thomas & Paulk on Facebook
Thomas & Paulk on Google+