DUI Attorney in Tampa
DUI Attorneys Firm Overview Attorney Profiles
Thomas & Paulk, P.A.
Free case evaluation
Resources Case Results Contact Us
Premier DUI Defense Lawyers
Charged with a Tampa DUI?

Charged with a DUI?

Whether you have been charged with a DUI, or you are simply looking to learn more about DUI law, you can read more about how we can help you here.

DUI Charges in Tampa | Drunk Driving Defense | DUI Testing | BUI / Gasparilla Arrests

Defending Your Rights 24/7
DUI Defense BLog
Contact a Tampa DUI Lawyer
Thomas & Paulk PA is a BBB Accredited Business. Click for the BBB Business Review of this Attorneys in Tampa FL

Bus Driver Charged with DUI After Collision

When you send your children off to school, you trust the bus driver to get them to their classes safely. Most people assume that bus drivers know not to drink and drive, but there are times that this doesn’t actually happen. In fact, there are many times when a bus driver will drink alcohol before getting behind the wheel and drive while intoxicated and carrying precious cargo to and from school. Recently, a bus driver in South Carolina was arrested after she crashed her large yellow school bus into a ditch.

The South Carolina Highway patrol says that the 61-year-old driver was ending her morning route when she ran off the road on Friday because she was intoxicated. Margaret Means normally drives children to elementary, junior high and high schools in her South Carolina school district, but had dropped off all of her students at the time of the accident. District officials say that Means had just dropped off the high school and junior high students before the accident, and was only minutes away from injuring these young ones. Means was not hurt in the accident but she was charged with driving under the influence and child endangerment.

Whenever a driver has children in the car at the time of the DUI, he or she can be charged with this additional crime. In Florida, it is often labeled child neglect. A person who is convicted of child neglect can be issued 5 years in prison, 5 years on probation and up to $5,000 for this crime. It is considered a Third Degree Felony by the law. You will want a criminal defense attorney on your side when you go to trial for a DUI involving a child neglect charge. Contact a lawyer today for more information!

Categories: DUI, Local News
Tampa DUI Defense Attorney Thomas & Paulk, P.A. Attorneys at Law